Mourning & Poetry

So, today was kind of hard.  I went to my grandma’s house for the first time since she died of ALS, or Lou Gehrig’s Disease.  It happened about a month ago, and in a lot of ways, it still hasn’t sunken in for me.  My family hasn’t really talked about it too much since the funeral.  I mean, I understand that we’re trying to move on, but I haven’t really had time to grieve.  There’s just been so much going on, and I’ve been doing my best to comfort my mom and younger sister.  They’re both so strong usually, and seeing them so broken up, I’ve just wanted to be the crying shoulder.  I never shed a tear until a few weeks later, when I went away for a week to High-LI.  I broke down completely.

Anyway, I wrote this short poem today.  It’s not my best, but I think it pretty well describes the pain of dealing with goodbyes.  For me, at least.

If heaven wasn’t far away,
I’d tell you, “I’ll come visit.”
If goodbyes weren’t so bittersweet,
we’d say it with a smile.
If love could always find a way,
death wouldn’t be the limit.
If forever wasn’t so damn far,
I’d just close my eyes.
I’d be with you in a little while.

Leave a Reply

