Religious Flame Wars for Christ?

Image

Gahhhhhhhhhhhh.

How on earth can I keep myself from getting angry and spiteful and fired up when I come across blogs like this?  It’s really, really difficult.  Like, really.  I think Catholic hate from other self-professed Christians upsets me even more than hardcore atheists attacking religion as a whole.  I just can’t help but feel like, just maybe, running a “Christian” hate blog about Catholicism and Islam isn’t all that Christlike.  Correct me if I’m wrong.

I don’t think Jesus cries tears of joy in heaven every time one of His disciples verbally attacks another.  I just can’t really see that happening.  I mean, I know that we Catholics have done our share of casting stones, but even the one true Church—especially the one true Church—has to realize that we are first and foremost the hands and feet of Christ.  People who don’t know Christ can only come to know Him through His Body on earth.

Getting into a religious flame war with the Christian Spook guy might feel satisfying, but in the end, it’s not about what I want.  This is not about me.  This is about the God I serve.  If I’m truly His hands and feet, I have to swallow my pride, the part of me that wants to lash out.  I have to act like Christ, not like Katy.  That’s what I’m trying to do these days.

30 thoughts on “Religious Flame Wars for Christ?

  1. Good word. James tells us said that we use our mouths either to bless or curse. The point is, there isn’t a third option. When we dig up the past and play “accuser of the brethren” we’re on the wrong side. It’s actually demonic. Thanks for referencing my post. Blessings to you and all my beloved Catholic brothers and sisters in Christ!

  2. I hate arguing. Especially angry, hateful, bitter arguing. It makes me feel sick at my heart to even go near it. I did have a conversation with Mr. Spook, in which he was briefly reasonable and treated me like a fellow human being, but the moment he realized I was making some sense, he resorted to lashing out in hate again. He is just a troll, less interested in the love or grace or truth of Christ than in anger and hate and provocation. We should pray for him.

      • If you haven’t found your way to Jessica’s Watchtower yet — it’s pretty much the best place around these parts to be. She’s assembled a bunch of people from a lot of different faith traditions — Catholic, Anglican, Baptist, Methodist, Evangelical — and somehow has them all getting along and talking to each other. And we Catholics over there are dealing with Mr. Spook, and, I hope, getting somewhere with him. And Jessica is pretty much the most loving and supportive blogger ever, and the best friend to have on WordPress, and I know you will love her and she will love you. 🙂

  3. Hi Katy, love your blog. Checked out the blog you referenced. Really crazy stuff! Fifty million executed by popes during the inquisition? Huh? I did a few google searches and the entire population of Europe was only 200 million in the 16th century. Moreover, highest figures of people actually arrested during the Inquistion which spanned over 350 years, were about 180,000, of which only a fraction were actually executed.

    “Thou shalt not bear false witness against thy neighbor.” Mr. Spook needs to do some fact checking. Very sad to see this type of vitriol, when Christians in our own time are under such attack, and really need to support one another.

    Blessings to you, Katy!

    • Patricia, that whole blog just baffled me. When you harbor that much anger toward a particular group, I feel like that hatred inevitably precedes your love for Christ. You put all your energy into incriminating them, and you forget that your real driving force is a man who ate with sinners, lepers and tax collectors. Persecution blogs upset me. Sadder still, the guy has quite a following on here.

      Prayer is always the best countermeasure, I’m learning. (:

      • Beautifully stated, Katy. You truly have a heart for Christ. Yes, such hateful blogs are no fun to read. I won’t be going back either. But, I will try to remember these poor misguided souls in prayer. God bless you, Katy!

      • it is not hatred.. it is simply pointing out the facts.. that are so unpleasant to you..
        i am not interested in incriminating anyone.. just in encouraging you catholics, to realize that you are following doctrines of demons.

        If you feel incriminated,, then perhaps you are confusing incrimination, with ‘ conviction of sin ‘,,
        I’m a sinner as well by the way.. as is your so called pope..

        I shall try to be more subtle in how i point out the false teachings of catholicism, and shall endeavor to ‘ tickle ‘ more ears..

      • “In contrast, the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, generosity, faithfulness, gentleness, self-control.”

        “Brothers, even if a person is caught in some transgression, you who are spiritual should correct that one in a gentle spirit, looking to yourself, so that you also may not be tempted.”

        Galatians has a good bit to say about the way a child of God is to conduct himself. I don’t know you and will cerainly not attempt to judge your soul on the criteria of Galatains 5:22-3. I leave that to you and your own self-examination. Often, I have found that when I intend to help lead others to Christ, I instead succumb to pride and self-righteousness. It is impossible to let Christ’s love shine through me if I assume the role of the condemner. When I am truly reflecting Christ, I know it because the fruit of the Spirit radiates from me and there is no room for pride or sef-righteousness.

        Please think about how your attempts to moralize come across, because from my side of the fence, they don’t feel steeped in Christ’s love. I admire your convictions and attempts to correct what you perceive as evil, but are you doing it out of love?

        I’m more than willing to talk to you and hear what you have to say, but only if you’re willing to be patient and respectful and realize that, by virtue of my faith in the same Jesus of Nazareth, I am your sister in Christ, and you are my brother. The hostility your past messages have conveyed is unnecessary and unconducive to your goal.

      • you are not mt sister in Christ..your a catholic, so I have no fellowship with you.

        you make too many assumptions about me.
        please monitor your presumption, in that YOU,being a woman, ought no to be ‘attempting ‘ to teach me,,
        it is unbiblical…So I think you need to keep your peace, and go ask your husband..

        but, one of the main reasons for my comments, is that, you catholics keep referring to yourselves as being Christian…
        YOU ARE NOT CHRISTIANS !!
        Im not keen on liars.

    • “By this all men will know that you are my disciples, if you have love for one another” (John 13:35).

      I’m not sure you have any business declaring who are and aren’t Christians, Mr. Spook. We follow the Lord Jesus Christ and obey His Word. Perhaps you should try it for a change. We have love for one another, for our Lord and for our neighbor. I’m not sure what part of the Gospel you think you are following, but I think you’ve missed it, my brother.

      • Well I certainly have Love for Christians..as they are brothers in Christ..

        It is always pretty clear who is a Christian and who is not, by what doctrine they are teaching touting..

        As you know i do not accept roman catholics as being brothers / sisters..and definitely not as Christians..

        IF you are following false teaching, then i think it reasonable to assume that you are not actually following Christ at all..

        Im not your brother Joseph.. i wish that you were..

        whilst I am not perfect,, i do try to follow the teachings given in the scriptures..unlike roman catholicism, and of course roman catholics..

        I shall pray for your conversion, and realization that you have in fact been deceived..

        I try to follow the whole counsel of God..

      • That’s all well and good blather, Mr. Spook, but you didn’t answer my question: What part of the Gospel do you think it is you’re following by attacking other people with such aggression and virulence? All you ever post, on your own blog or on ours, is negative and hateful, calling other people liars and pagans and worse. I don’t know what Scriptures it is you think you are following, but I wish you’d tell me. After all, I want to convert and be a Christian just like you. 🙂

      • Joseph.. I love your sarcasm..seriously..

        and your brand of vituperation.. 😀

        It is do difficult to point out someones false teaching, without them of accusing you falsely of ‘hating / being a hater ‘..

        So what I do is just get straight to the point.
        It is very difficult for me, especially now,, to be polite to people who have already called me some very nasty things..not you so much though…

        i have admitted to you a few times. that i need to be more gentle in my approach..

        If you really want to be a Christian.. I can take you on a basic Bible study if you want..?? 😀

        I do miss you Joseph.. 😐

      • No, now that’s not what I asked. I didn’t say anything about Catholic teaching. I asked about YOUR teaching, what precepts of the Gospel YOU are following, since you are such a good Christian.

      • correct doctrine..KJV
        doctrine as given in the scriptures of course..

        i am hopeful that I can make catholics like you realize that they have been deceived into following false teachings.. and can only do that by pointing out doctrinal error..

        And you know that a lot of catholics on WordPress are teaching erroneous things that are not in the Bible..

        anyway.. if you were being fair.. you would realize that i do not spend all that much time on commenting on catholics blogs..even though it is fair game..

        how are you doing anyway Joseph.. you read as though you are angry or something.??

      • 2 Timothy 3:16 All scripture is given by inspiration of God, and is profitable for doctrine, for reproof, for correction, for instruction in righteousness:

        KJV / AV 1611

      • That’s nice. My blog is full of Scripture, too. Strangely, I don’t see much of it in your blog at all. You talk about it a lot, bully other people with it, beat them over the head with it — but I do think this is one of the first times I’ve ever heard you speak it.

        Yes, these Scriptures mention the words “correct” and “rebuke” — but, do you really think that is a personal exhortation to you? Paul, an Apostle, writing to Timothy and Titus, bishops — but that’s for you too, right? I don’t see that commanded in the Gospels or in any other letter, though, addressed to all Christians — yet that seems to define your whole existence as a Christian, am I wrong? What about all that nonsense about loving God and loving our neighbor (Mark 12:30-31, etc.), loving one another (John 13:34, John 15:12, 1 John 4:7, etc.), serving one another in love (Galatians 5:13)? “By this shall all men know that ye are my disciples, if ye have love one to another” (John 13:35). And yet I haven’t witnessed you having love toward anyone. You’ve never offered it or claimed to have it. Jesus commanded us to love our neighbor — that is, not just our fellow Christians, as you claim to do, but filthy Samaritans and pagans and even our enemy (Matthew 5:44). “Speak the truth in love” (Ephesians 4:15), Paul taught. You claim to be speaking the truth, and yet I haven’t seen any love. Everything you post is negative and condemnatory, tearing down rather than building up (1 Thessalonians 5:11). “YOU ARE NOT CHRISTIANS!!!” Why is it, then, that we are the ones actually following what Jesus taught?

        Now, we’ve polluted dear Katy’s blog enough. Now let it rest. I make it a policy not to feed trolls, but I’ve done it today and now look at the mess.

      • well the simple answer is that its generally a waste of time to share scripture with roman catholics, simply because most of them really do not know what they are talking about, and mainly are already blogging things that are completely unbiblical..

        I have quoted scripture when i have been asked to,,and when i havent…one of your catholic trolls, asked me to do this,,and he just went completely abusive..so realised it was a waste of time referring catholics to what the bible teaches..and you have illustrated my point for me..with your rant,and rather petulant response…

        When a catholic refers to themselves as Christian..I expect them to be expressing Christian/ biblical teaching…and , they never are not doing..
        I dont see why I should just not say anything..and let them get away with it unchallenged.

        every catholic is able to comment on my blob any time they wish to..

        I do have a blog of writings done by me..if you bothered to look..

        anyway..you are polluting katys blog already..
        It is always correct to point out the errors of those who , like you, are perverting the true Gospel..

        You were never protestant..and certainly are not Christian…
        If this is how further conversation is going to go, do not bother me..and please give the self righteousness a rest, as..it is so droll…

      • 2 Timothy 4:2 Preach the word; be instant in season, out of season; reprove, rebuke, exhort with all longsuffering and doctrine.

      • Titus 1:9 Holding fast the faithful word as he hath been taught, that he may be able by sound doctrine both to exhort and to convince the gainsayers.

        2 John 1:9 Whosoever transgresseth, and abideth not in the doctrine of Christ, hath not God. He that abideth in the doctrine of Christ, he hath both the Father and the Son.

Leave a Reply

