The Saint That Is Just Me – Danielle Rose

Hey, guys! Happy Friday! Sorry, I know I haven’t posted much recently. Busy.

Anyway, not sure if you guys know who Danielle Rose is, but maybe it’ll ring a bell if I tell you she’s the one who sang “Crown of Thorns” (which she wrote) at the Verizon Center pep rally for the 2011 March for Life. I’ve seen her twice, and I really like her.

This song is called “The Saint That Is Just Me.” I think we can all relate to that feeling that we want to do something BIG to prove our faith to God, ourselves and those around us. We look at the saints and see these great acts, these brutal martyrdoms, and we begin to think that if we want to be true followers of Christ, we have to follow suit.

My patron saint is St. Maria Goretti. Her story is beautiful and very famous in the Catholic world. An eleven-year-old girl is stabbed fourteen times in the stomach and chest defending her purity AND the purity of her would-be rapist. As she lies dying in the hospital, she tells the priest that she forgives her murderer and wants him to be with her in heaven. How incredible. The problem is, for a while, I actually prayed for martyrdom. I prayed that God would let me show my love for Him through some dramatic act of witness.

Then I listened to this song, and the lyrics really opened something inside of me:
“If it weren’t for all my sins and wounds and weakness, then You wouldn’t have married me upon the Cross.”

You guys, God isn’t asking me to be St. Maria Goretti or Agnes or Lucy or any other. He’s asking me to be Katy, and right now, I don’t fully know what that entails. I just have to trust God, swallow my pride, let go of the desire for my own personal glory, and accept that God’s calling me to serve Him in my own unique way.

I’m going to close with a simple but powerful quote from Mother Teresa:
“Not all of us can do great things. But we can do small things with great love.”

Leave a Reply

